Grand Chess Tour organizers announce the tournament format for 2020

Photo: Grand Chess Tour

Grand Chess Tour organizers have announced the format for the 2020 tournaments.

They will feature the following 10 players, as some of them will be involved in the Candidates Tournament: Levon Aronian, Magnus Carlsen, Ding Liren, Hikaru Nakamura, Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, Fabiano Caruana, Wesley So, Alexander Grischuk, Ian Nepomniachtchi and Anish Giri.

There will be no separate final stage this year – the organizers are going to announce the winner based on the results of all tournaments.

The stages will be held on May 3-13 in Bucharest, on June 22-29 in Paris, on July 2-9 in Zagreb, on August 22-30 and September 1-11 in St. Louis.

The prize fund is USD 325,000 for classic tournaments and USD 150,000 for rapid and blitz.


Dear visitors, You can place your opinion on the material using your Facebook account. Please, be polite and follow our simple rules: you are not allowed to make off - topic comments, place advertisements, use abusive and filthy language. The editorial staff reserves the right to moderate and delete comments in case of breach of the rules.

Editor’s choice